Recycling Crayons! How to, tips, tricks & a giveaway!

review giveaway disclaimer

I’ve seen it posted many many times on Pinterest, but I’ve never attempted it myself until now, so I thought i’d share a “how to” and some tips and tricks!

My daughter will be 2 in August and she’s having an “Elmo Party!” as she calls it. Since Elmo “loves his goldfish, and crayons too” I decided to do a crayon & goldfish party favor. Not real goldfish, the crackers. We were gifted a big tub of old crayons that our neighbor was throwing away so I thought I’d put them to use! Sure, it’d be easier and faster to just buy a few boxes of Sesame Street crayons at the local party store but then what would I do with all these old crayons!? I couldn’t let them go to waste! I purchased the Sesame Street crayon mold very inexpensively off eBay. You can find the seller here.
The method and way I chose to go about making my crayons was a bit different for two reasons. First, the mold I was using was plastic so it couldn’t go in the oven like I read on many instructionals. So I had to figure out another way to get the wax into the mold. Second, I wasn’t mixing colors. I wanted all the Sesame Street characters represented in the mold to be their respective colors. I.e. Elmo red, big bird yellow, Cookie Monster blue, etc. So I had to find a way to heat up the wax colors separately.

The idea I came up with was to use soup cans which wasn’t easy because we don’t eat a lot of canned food. (You can read my post about why here).

crayons3

Here’s the steps I followed to create my crayons:

1. I gathered, peeled & snapped my crayons into small pieces. The smaller the pieces, the faster they will  melt. One color per can. I used 6 different cans for 6 colors and the 6 characters represented in my mold. I filled up the entire can because my sister tipped me off and said that you’ll need twice as many crayons as you think you’ll need! I also added more crayons to the cans part way through the whole process for more wax. The initial amount wasn’t enough.

2. Add your cans to a pot and then fill the pot with water. Fill just enough so the cans don’t float. Bring the water to a boil and then turn heat to low to keep the wax warm. You also don’t want the cans to get too hot to pick up.
♥  don’t fill the cans up too much at one time because then they get too hot to handle. They are also harder to pour and then wax ends up dripping everywhere!

3. Once the wax liquifies, slowly pour the wax into the desired mold being careful not to splash or overfill the mold.
♥  Since the cans were hot, I used some tongs to take the cans out and set them on the counter for a few seconds until they became cool enough to handle.
♥  Cover your counter top workspace with an old rag or towel and have a few extra on hand just in case.
♥  You may need to stir the wax before you poor because sometimes the color pigment separates from the wax.
♥  If you are using a tray like mine and pouring several colors at once, I’d recommend starting from the innermost mold and working your way out.

4. Allow the wax to cool and slightly solidify so they are ready for the fridge. A good way to test to see if they ready for the fridge is to do the blow test. Gently blow on the surface of the poured wax. If it ripples, it’s not ready. If it doesn’t, you’re good to take them over to the fridge to cool further for about 10 minutes on an even surface.
♥  The fridge isn’t required but helps speed up the process.
♥  DO NOT put them in the freezer. I did this and they cracked in half after I took them out of the mold. Good thing I was able to just melt them down again!
♥  Depending on the type of mold you are using, you may want to mist the mold with an oil spray before adding wax to Make them easier to pop out of the mold.

crayons1

Since I had extra wax leftover, decided to make extra crayons to share with you!

Enter HERE for your chance to win a set of 6 Sesame Street recycled crayons made by me!

(You will be redirected to the Rafflecopter entry form page)

4 thoughts on “Recycling Crayons! How to, tips, tricks & a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

