Cleaning & Laundry Recipes

Hand Sanitizer

This recipe is great because it doesn’t contain any alcohol which can be very drying to the skin.  Please note that proper credit for this adaptation is being given to  Safemama.com.

Ingredients:  all of which can be found in natural health food stores and maybe even some drug or grocery stores.

  • 100% pure aloe vera gel (organic is preferred – aloe can be preserved with parabens)
  • Witch hazel
  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Any of the following essential oils which have natural antibacterial/antiseptic properties.  I leave this open ended because everyone has different scent preferences.  Peppermint, Clove, Eucalyptus, Lavender (my fave), Lemon, Cinnamon, Thyme, Rosemary, Basil

FlipSpoutBtlsTranslucent_l

Directions:

  • Find an old container to re purpose.  I used an old soap dispenser (rinsed well and dried) with a pump to mix my ingredients, then transferred the end result into travel size bottles similar to what you would find store bought hand sanitizer in.
  • Add about 1 cup of your pure aloe vera gel to your larger mixing bottle.
  • Slowly mix in 1-2 teaspoons of Witch Hazel. You do not want the consistency of the gel to become too thin.
  • Add 3-4 drops of Tea Tree essential oil, and 3-4 drops of your other chosen essential oil. Shake vigorously to blend ingredients.  You can add additional drops to scent to your preference.  Just remember to shake to mix.
  • If you find the consistency to be too thin, you can add a bit more aloe vera gel a teaspoon at a time until you reach your desired consistency.
  • After you’re done mixing and you’ve reached your desired consistency and scent, you can transfer to your smaller size travel bottles if you choose.  I like to keep these little bottles in my purse or diaper bag.

As always, hand washing is the preferred and recommended method to stop the spread of germs and hand washing should not be replaced by hand sanitizer!

greenDividerBarOnWhite

Laundry Detergent

I make my detergent in bulk in store in baby formula containers which I received from a friend.  They are great because they conveniently already have a scoop and a lid (for safety, I recommend removing all manufacturer labels and properly indicate that there is NOT baby formula inside!  Please don’t let someone feed this to your baby)!   I use two versions of this.  One for cloth diapers, one for regular laundry.  Proper credit is being given to theecofriendlyfamily.com for this recipe adaptation.

Ingredients:  all of which can be found in your local grocery store.  Nothing fancy, nothing frilly.

Directions:
Simply combine all ingredients and mix!  Your wash routine will vary depending on your machine, your water (hard or soft, hot or cold), etc.

I generally run all my washes on cold to save energy unless I’m washing bedding or towels and I use 1-2 tablespoons per load depending on the size of the load (1 for small-medium or two for large).  I’ve never had a problem with the powder dissolving.  If I have stubborn stains or highly soiled messes, I use an extra scoop.

As far as diapers go, if you find they are not coming clean (smell dirty, strong ammonia, etc.)  Try using more or less detergent and or an extra wash or rinse cycle.  It may take a bit of trial and error to figure out what works for you.  I still think I’m trying to figure this out!

If you enjoy reading my blog, please take a moment and vote for my blog!
All you have to do is click the box below!  Thanks a bunch!

 

4 thoughts on “Cleaning & Laundry Recipes

  1. I have tried to create my own laundry detergent in the past, but had trouble with it. This recipe is a little different, so maybe I will see how this goes! I’d really love to be able to make it myself, the savings are great! 🙂

    • The washing soda, borax & oxiclean. Borax cleans by converting some water molecules to hydrogen peroxide. OxiClean is basically a solid form of hydrogen peroxide. The washing soda helps break down the oils of the solids.

Leave a Reply

