The Honest Company ingredient Discrepancy

th

On Saturday, May 3rd I sent the following email to The Honest Company.

“Hi Honest Company. I purchased your product awhile back which was a two-pack of your “Honest Shampoo + Body Wash” from a Costco location here in Illinois. When I went to look into re-ordering the product from your site I noticed that the ingredients listed on your site and the ingredients listed on my bottle are vastly different and listed in a different order as well. Is there a reason for this? Thank you.”

Here is the response I promptly received on Monday, May 5th (the next business day).

“Hi Melissa,  Thanks for reaching out!  Often there is an opportunity to refine products and make things better…well, we have some honestly good news – our Honest Shampoo + Body Wash is new and improved! Since we have reformulated our Shampoo+ Body Wash the list of ingredient​’s​ list has changed. Even though the ingredient list is slightly different this product is still free from SLS, sulfates, parabens, phthalates, fragrances, dyes, sodium chloride, formaldehyde, MEA, DEA, TEA, petrochemicals & most common allergens! As in all aspects of life, there is room for improvement, and we are committed to continually doing better—better for you, your children, the planet, and everyone’s future.  If you have any more questions, please let me know!”

What is your opinion of their response?  Thoughts?  Comments are welcome below.

This is very reminiscent of when California Baby reformulated a bunch of their products without letting their customers know about it.  Customers were outraged and thought they were trying to cover something up.  As any of my readers may know, I’m a HUGE fan of Kathy over at safemama.com  and she writes about the reformulation drama that I speak of here.

Leave a comment